Tuesday, April 12, 2005

HURRAH! Another banner year in the Park student media!

Please join me in congratulating all of the editors, reporters, photographers, producers and crew of our amazing newspaper and television station for winning -- yet again -- a whole slate of extraordinary honors and awards this year. I am constantly amazed by the talent and accomplishment in the Park School, and while we don't need external validation of that excellence, it sure is nice when it happens!



The Ithacan has been named “Best College Newspaper in New York State” for 2004 by the New York Press Association. The award was presented on April 9 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Albany during the NYPA’s spring convention.

The paper competed against both weekly and daily newspapers in New York State for the honor. While The Ithacan has placed first in the state against other weekly newspapers for four of the five previous years, this is the first year the dailies and weeklies were combined in the contest.

The paper also bested the competition in the following categories:

• First Place for General Excellence
• First Place for Design

In addition, individual staff members received the following awards:

• Charlie Ellsworth ’04, First Place for Feature Writing
• Jim Hawver ’07. Second Place for Column Writing
• Rebecca Gardner ’05, First Place for Photography
• Rebecca Gardner ’05, Second Place for Photography


On the same afternoon, The Ithacan was also presented with several awards at the Region 1 meeting of the Society of Professional Journalists, held in Stamford, Conn. The paper received the Mark of Excellence Award, Third Place, for Best All-Around Non-Daily Student Newspaper in the Northeast Region.

In addition, the following staff members received individual awards:

• Jim Hawver ’07, Mark of Excellence Award, Second Place for Sports Column Writing
• Jim Hawver ’07, Mark of Excellence Award, Honorable Mention for Sports Writing
• Anne K. Walters ’05, Mark of Excellence Award, Third Place (tie) for General News Reporting
• Christa Lombardi ’06, Mark of Excellence Award, Third Place (tie) for General News Reporting

Broadcast Education Association's 2005 Festival of Media Arts
Las Vegas - April 21, 2005
First Place (Tie)
Producer Robert Edwards,"Studio Walk," a thirty second promo for ICTV programs

Studio Production
Third Place
Producer Chris Caccioppoli, "30 Minutes," a sketch comedy show.
Awards will be made April 21 at the Las Vegas Convention Center as part of the BEA's annual convention.

Society of Professional Journalists Regional Competition
April 9, 2005
Television Spot News Reporting
First Place
”Manhunt Ends” – Kelly McPherson & Michael Geller
First place winners are entered into the SPJ national competition

Television Non-Daily Newscast
Second Place
Newswatch 16

Television Feature
Second Place
”Ice Fishing” – Adam Aurand & Peter Busa

Television Feature
Third Place
”Calvin Rothermich” – Kyle Clark & Michael Geller

Associated Collegiate Press – Apple Award
Spring National College Media Convention, New York, NY - March 19, 2005
Best Television Newscast
Newswatch 16 of Feb. 22, 2005


Post a Comment

<< Home