Monday, March 29, 2010

MORE awards?? The Ithacan does it again!

Congratulations one more time to The Ithacan's staff and Michael Serino, their advisor!

The Ithacan has been named the Best College Newspaper in New York State for 2009 by the New York Press Association. This is the ninth time in the past 11 years that the paper has received the award.
The paper was also awarded:
  • First Place for General Excellence
  • First Place for Design
  • Third Place for Editorial
  • Third Place for Sports Coverage
In addition, the following individuals won awards for their work in The Ithacan in 2009:
  • Erin Geismar ’09, First Place, News Writing
  • Byard Duncan ’09, Second Place, News Writing
  • Allison Wassink ’09, First Place, Photography
  • Allison Wassink ’09, Third Place, Photography
  • Lilly Miller ’13, Second Place, Column Writing

Friday, March 26, 2010

Get out your calendars and mark down these big events

My calendar is exploding! We have SO many great events happening in the Park School in the next few weeks -- and you won't want to miss them ... so get out your calendar NOW.

March 31
Award–winning filmmaker Ric Burns and three of his longtime colleagues will provide an inside look at the documentary process in a seminar “Documentary Filmmaking: A Seminar in Collaboration” at 4 p.m. in Park Hall Auditorium.

Joining Burns on the panel will be composer and 1974 Ithaca College alumnus Brian Keane, film editor Lishin Yu and sound editor Ira Spiegel. The seminar will focus on the interconnectedness of image, music and sound in the filmmaking process. Observe how a picture editor cuts for the sound editor, how the sound editor designs with the composer in mind and how ultimately they are all working to bring the director’s vision to the screen.

April 7 - -
Naomi Klein, an award-winning journalist, syndicated columnist and author of “The Shock Doctrine: The Rise of Disaster Capitalism,” will speak at 7 p.m. in Emerson Suites. A contributing editor for “Harper’s Magazine,” Klein writes for “Rolling Stone” and “The Nation” as well as a syndicated column for “The Guardian.” In 2004, her reporting from Iraq won the James Aronson Award for Social Justice Journalism. Her first book, “No Logo: Taking Aim at the Brand Bullies,” became a manifesto of the anti-corporate globalization movement. She published a collection of her articles and speeches, “Fences and Windows: Dispatches from the Front Lines of the Globalization Debate,” in 2002.

April 14 - our Jessica Savitch presentation this year will be “Money 911: Teaching Americans to Cope Financially in a Changing World,” a presentation by “Today” show financial editor and best-selling author Jean Chatzky; 7:30 p.m., Emerson Suites, Phillips Hall.

April 19 - The Park Center for Independent Media (PCIM) at Ithaca College will present its second annual Izzy Award for special achievement in independent media will go to investigative journalist Jeremy Scahill, whose work in 2009 helped elevate the issue of abuse by military contractors to front-page news. Scahill is the author of the international best-seller “Blackwater: The Rise of the World’s Most Powerful Mercenary Army.”

April 22 - Earth Day - noted author and environmental activist Lynne Twist will present a public kick-off to our mini-course on Media for Social Change. Along with Ms. Twist, we'll have a specially recorded presentation by author Paul Hawken, as well as comments from our mini-course moderator and alum, Andy Orgel. Orgel is Chairman and CEO of One Degree Media and Entertainment and was one of the founders of MTV and the A&E Network. It will be held in Park Auditorium at 7PM.

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Seniors - Dinner in your honor! Sign up NOW

Senior Parkies:
We're having a dinner in your honor on Wednesday April 28 at 7PM in Emerson Suites! Sign up for an entree (prime rib, salmon, or veggie lasagna) at the front desk in the Dean's office by Monday April 12

The dinner will feature a presentation by Liz Tigelaar, TV-R '98 alumna who is the creator and executive producer of the new CW series Life Unexpected. She'll talk about the importance of networking and the power of the IC Communications alumni group out in industry.

Be there!

Tuesday, March 23, 2010

vote for this film! by March 26!

Vote for Park senior Matthew Smith's film STAMHAMMER in the "It Came From Kuchar" contest

Sunday, March 21, 2010

The Ithacan tops itself

It's taken me a while to actually get to this blog -- because every time I'd get started, Ithacan advisor Michael Serino would send me yet one more email announcing an award!

OK -- so let's start: The Ithacan Online was presented with an Online Gold Crown Award from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association at the spring National College Media Convention in New York on March 14. Only five college Web sites in the country received the Gold Crown, which recognizes overall excellence. The other four were the Indiana Daily Student (Indiana University), the Iowa Daily Student (Iowa State University), (University of Oklahoma) and The Daily Pennsylvanian (University of Pennsylvania). So we're in good company. This is only the second year the Online Crowns have been presented, and we've won the Gold both times.

In addition, The Ithacan received the Best in Show award (the "Apple Award") in its category at the closing ceremony of the convention. This is the fifth consecutive year the paper has won the Apple Award, and the seventh time in the nine years since the award was created. Editor-in-chief Linsdsey Hollenbaugh is shown above holding the award.

And while Michael Serino was sitting in the awards ceremony, he received an e-mail from the Society of Professional Journalists, announcing that The Ithacan is a finalist for the Mark of Excellence Award for Best Non-Daily Newspaper in the Northeast region. Winners from SPJ's 12 regions go on to compete for the national award. The paper is consistently ranked among the top three papers in the Northeast, and two years ago was ranked #2 in the country by SPJ. Student finalists in individual SPJ award categories include: Andy Swift ’09 (feature story), junior Allison Usagave (photo illustration) and Allison Wassink ”09 (sports photography).

Finally, Libby Sile has been awarded an American Society of Magazine Editors (ASME) summer 2010 internship and has been named a winner of the Roy W. Howard National Collegiate Reporting Competition. The latter comes with a nine-day study tour of Japan. This is the second consecutive year an Ithacan staffer has won the competition: last year Tricia Nadolny '09 won and went on a study tour of Korea and Japan.

What can I say? Congratulations is not even close to the right word. Celebrations will follow.