Friday, May 14, 2010

senior film students receive cash awards!

It's  been a week of student film and video screenings, and although
I could only get to a fraction of these,
the talent and dedication evident is really inspiring.

I watched "Knights of Death Metal", the film that won the David Ames
award cash price for $10,000.

What a cute story -- great acting, and marvelous quality
-- thanks, in part, to the great equipment our students were
able to rent because of their award.

I am also happy to announce that Tommy Strauss (/Time’s Arrow/)
and Alyssa M.
Krause (/Zephyr/) will be receiving a
$2,000 National Board of Review Student

Grant for their respective wonderful films.


Friday, May 07, 2010

Student documentaries to air May 16

Turn on your TV Sunday May 16 at 10:30 PM!

Syracuse PBS affiliate station WCNY
will broadcast two documentaries that were produced in the Park School of Communications. Move is a thirteen minute documentary produced by David Pierpont. It is a portrait of two parkour practitioners who train to create efficient movement in their surrounding environments. Pipe Dreams is a twelve minute documentary produced by Adam Rivera and Erin Ozmat that focuses on regional efforts to restore and at times re-integrate silent film era pipe organs into modern movie-going experiences. Both documentaries were produced in sections of Professor John Scott's Video Production Workshop class.

Wednesday, May 05, 2010

NewsWatch 16 - The best in the nation!

The Society of Professional Journalists just named Ithaca College's flagship news program, NewsWatch 16, the National Winner for Best All-Around Newscast for 2009!

Seth Palmer served as the News Director for the Fall 2009 semester, while seniors Ben Nasta produced the show and senior Matt Wright and sophomore Kirsten Quinn served as anchors.

The winners and finalists will be recognized Monday, Oct. 4, at the Mark of Excellence Awards Luncheon, which occurs during the 2010 SPJ Convention & National Journalism Conference at The Planet Hollywood Hotel in Las Vegas.

Congratulations to Professor Pete Johanns, this year's Manager of TV Operations and the rest of the team!